Supreme Court Collegium recommends elevation of Justice S Murlidhar, Hima Kohli as Chief Justices of Orissa and Telangana High Courts.2 min read


The Supreme Court Collegium, in its meeting, has decided for the elevation of five judges of different high courts to the position of Chief Justices of respective high courts. The meeting of the collegium, which was held on December 14, has come up with the recommendations of elevating the five judges belonging to different high courts to the Chief Justice post in the various high court.

The judges whose names were recommended for such elevation in the position included Justice Dr. S Murlidhar, Justice Hima Kohli, Justice Pankaj Mittal, Justice Sandeep Banerjee, and Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia.

Justice Dr. S Murlidhar was originally from Delhi High court but in February 2020, he was transferred to Punjab and Haryana High Court, and presently he is working there. Justice Hima Kohli is presently working as a judge in Delhi High Court and Justice Pankaj Mittal is currently a judge in Allahabad High Court. Similarly, Justice Sanjib Banerjee is presently a judge of Calcutta High Court and Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia is a judge of Uttarakhand High Court.

According to the apex court website, the collegium, through its meeting on December 14, has recommended the appointment of the above mentioned High Court Judges as the Chief Justices of different high courts. Justice Dr. S Murlidhar   is to be appointed as the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court, Justice Hima Kohli will be elevated as the Chief Justice of Telangana High Court, Justice Pankaj Mittal is supposed to be the Chief Justice of Jammu and Kashmir High Court, In addition to this, Justice Sanjib Banerjee is to be the Chief Justice of Madras High Court and Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia is proposed to be the Chief Justice of Guwahati High Court.

Along with the Chief Justice of India Sharad Arvind Bobde, the collegium consisted of four other Supreme Court judges namely, Justice R F Nariman, Justice N V Ramana, Justice U U Lalit and Justice A M Khanwilkar.

In addition to the elevation of the five above mentioned judges to the post of Chief Justices in various High Courts, Four Chief Justices of different High Courts are to be transferred to other High Courts. Justice J K Maheshwari, who is the Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh High Court will be transferred to Sikkim High Court, Chief Justice of Telangana High Court R S Chouhan to Uttarakhand High court, CJ of Orissa High Court Mohammed Rafiq to Madhya Pradesh High Court and Chief Justice of Sikkim High Court A K Goswami to Andhra Pradesh High Court.

READ ALSO: The hospital sends the dead body to the wrong family: Supreme Court moved after NCDRC reduces compensation to the deceased person’s family